Do I want to dance on stage with Mika? Well, do I?

Yes, I know what you’re saying.  “Please Beth, why are you even thinking about this.  You could NEVER dance on stage with Mika!”  Well ladies and gentlemen, take a look at this blog post from Mika’s website below:

Mika is looking for volunteers to take part in his live shows and it could be you!

He wants…

Lollipop girls – they should be petite/ max size UK 12 and have lots of energy for skipping and dancing around.

Big Girls – the should be between sizes UK 16-24 and be prepared to wear the outfits without getting stage fright!

If you’re up for it read on…

All you need to do is turn up at the stage door of the venue at 6pm on the day of a show and ask for Mika’s Tour Manager. All applicants will then be met with and performers will be chosen within 30 minutes.

If you are chosen here’s what will happen next:

– costumes will be provided

– depending on venue, you will either have to spend the majority of the show backstage and in costume (and not be able to see the show) or you will have to completely cover up in your OWN overcoat and can watch from the audience until your time to perform. This will be at the discretion of the tour manager on the night.

– you cannot bring a friend backstage

– you cannot take any photos backstage

– you are a volunteer and will not be paid

– performers take part at their own risk and are responsible for their own property

– remember to eat beforehand as dinner won’t be provided!

– have fun!

Please note all applicants must be 18 years of age and have a valid ticket for the show.

Right, so I realise that it would be an absolutely amazing experience to dance on stage at a Mika concert, but they’re not exactly selling it, are they.  Let’s review:

1 – I can’t bring my friends back stage (I’m going with a few mates, one of which is travelling down from SCOTLAND just to see the show)

2 – I won’t get paid

3 – I won’t get FED

4 – I can’t take any pictures

5 – Despite having bought a ticket, I’ll have to miss most of the show sitting back stage, or face the risk of passing out by wearing an OVERCOAT over my COSTUME until I’m due on stage (are they kidding?)

6 – I risk having my stuff nicked while I’m on stage performing (lollipop girls probably aren’t allowed to wear backpacks (not that I even qualify for a lollipop girl))

7 – I won’t get FED

Do we even get to meet Mika, or hang out with him after the show?  My friends and I are going to Nandos before the show, but if I was to queue up at the back door of the O2 Academy at 6pm, then I would have to forgo dinner.  And I don’t think I can go that long without food.    I don’t think any big girls could go that long without food.  I’m not sure they really thought this through…

So Mika if you’re reading this (and I’m sure you are) then hit me up with some chicken and a couple of backstage passes and we’ll talk.

1 Comment »

  1. This was a funny post. I enjoyed reading it.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

