4th lesson – perfecting the 3-point turn (sorry, I mean the turn in the road)

Just got home from my 4th lesson.  I’ve already learned all 3 maneuvres, but today I perfected them.  Mostly.  Sort of.

I can do a turn in the road no problem, easiest one as far as I’m concerned (though I haven’t tried it on a busy road yet)  Parallel parking is also a doddle (I thought they’d actually try and make you park between 2 cars, isn’t that the point?)  And my reversing needs a little work but the instructor seems pretty happy anyway.

I drove through Harehills today.  Fortunately I know the roads quite well but navigating them in a car is a different matter.  There was a white van driver behind me (you know the type) and he tooted his horn as I was pulling away from the traffic lights.  I wasn’t even going that slowly!  He made me nervous and scared.  Van drivers are mean 😦

Other than that though I had a great time, got up to 50 on a stretch of road, 40 already feels really slow!  One thing I’ve noticed is that I keep forgetting what gear I’m in and I hate having to look down to see.  Wish there was something on the dash to tell me…

I also learned the “show me tell me” portion of the test today.  All very straight forward.  I think I was overcomplicating it.  One question was “how do you test your brakes are working” and I was like, hmm, is there a light somewhere in the car?  But apparently the answer is to… drive slowly and test the brakes.  Quite obvious really.  The way to test the brakes is to test the brakes.  Why didn’t I think of that?

And the way to test your brake lights?  I thought I was being funny when I said ask someone but apparently that’s the answer.  Ask someone.  Yeah.

So I’m not too worried about that part, I know where everything goes under the bonnet.  So I just need to take some more practice tests and I should be fine.  Oh here’s another funny one:

Q.  Your vehicle has broken down on an automatic railway crossing What should you do FIRST?

a. Get everyone out of the vehicle and clear of the crossing

b. Telephone your vehicle recovery service to move it

c. Try to push the vehicle clear of the crossing as soon as possible

or d…

Wait for it…

Walk along the track to give warning to any approaching trains.

Yes.  Some people think that when your car breaks down on a level crossing, you should WALK DOWN THE TRACK AND WARN THE TRAIN.  Good grief.

Ok ok just one more:

Q. You are on a motorway.  A large box falls onto the road from a lorry.  The lorry does not stop.  You should:

a. go to the next emergency telephone and report the hazard

b. stop close to the box until the police arrive

c. pull over to the hard shoulder, then remove the box

or…

d. catch up with the lorry and try to get the driver’s attention.

I would love to see somebody trying to flag down a lorry on the motorway.  It would make my day.

1 Comment »

  1. This was fun to read, Beth. Though it was many years ago, I had so much difficulty learning to drive. I didn’t hit anything, but I was very, very insecure. Reading this brought it all back for me.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

