Socially Awkward

This blog has now moved to an official domain. To view the new website, click here.
Have you ever been in a situation where you felt really awkward, and you just wanted to be a million miles away from where you were at that very moment?  Well that was my Saturday.

This last weekend I was at Leeds train station, waiting for a train (not train spotting, honest…) .  I had just bought a banana and a blueberry muffin from the Pumpkin Cafe, and I found a seat and sat down and ate them.  As soon as I had finished eating, the guy sitting opposite me started talking to me.

Don’t you hate it when people do that?  I’m not one of those people that can easily engage in conversation with random strangers.  I know some people can talk to anyone, but I can’t.   I think it’s creepy.

So anyway, this wasn’t the first time some random stranger has tried to engage me in conversation at Leeds train station.  Usually some old lady will make a comment about the weather and I’ll smile and agree, and then proceed to stick my headphones on and get out my book called “Please don’t talk to me, can’t you see I’m reading and listening to music in an attempt to avoid human interaction?”

But nothing could have prepared me for the conversation I was about to have.  I kid you not, this is exactly as the conversation went (I’m gonna call the weird scary guy WSG, cos it’s easier to type):

WSG: Are you well?
Me: Excuse me?
WSG: Are you well?
Me: Um, yeah…
WSG: Are you waiting for a train to take you on all sorts of wonderful adventures?
Me: Uh, yeah…
WSG: Is it wrong to people watch?
Me: …I’m sorry what?
WSG: I like to watch the people go about their lives. Is that wrong?
Me: No…

At this point a group of people were walking past to sit down nearby, and I took that as my queue to get the heck out of there. I couldn’t decide whether this guy was genuinely mental, or if he was winding me up. I actually looked around to see if I could see any hidden cameras. There were none, so I decided that I was allowed to be scared.

I waited for my train at the top of the escalator away from the Pumpkin Cafe and the weird scary guy. Naturally he got onto the same train as me but I managed to hide in first class. Some rude old woman was sitting in my seat (I HATE when people do that. Can’t they see the reserved ticket on the seat they’re sitting on? I PAID for that!) and the rest of the train was full to the point that people were standing. So I decided I could sit in first class. It was sweet.

So what is it with people who strike up convos with complete strangers, and ask them weird questions? Why can’t people just leave me alone?

Has anything like this ever happened to you? Leave a comment and tell me. I know you’re out there, my visit stats have rocketed recently due to, well I don’t know why. But I’d love to hear back from whoever is reading this thing.

Leave a Reply

